Japan 1976

Sue

Hi I dare say this has been asked before but I couldn't find any threads. Is there a reasonable quality video of their 1976 concerts in Japan? I watched one last night and it was quite different to the 1974 concert I have on DVD. It was really hard to hear/see much detail on the youtube one I found. I would love to see a clearer copy.
Thanks

I presume most of the footage available to view isn't professionally sanctioned by whoever holds the rights to show these performances to the public at large. I'm guessing that's why you are viewing poor quality images. I'm not an expert on this but I'm guessing most of these things are poor transfers of VHS video material by simply pointing a digital camera at a TV set to acquire a digital transfer.
I would guess that the concerts you refer to ain't released through commercial DVD or whatever medium.
I stick to my Carpenters Gold DVD and make do with that as their isn't that much more commercially available.
Sorry can't be more help. But I would feel that to display Carpenters material online you must have the permission of whoever holds the rights to do so?, and I would suggest that whoever is hosting these videos ( no matter how noble or other their intentions ) , potentially don't have the rights to show them and are therefore potentially infringing copyright?.
I am not an expert on video hosting but I would suggest people would need to be the rights holders to show footage originally sanction for TV?. Anyone else wish to comment as I don't really know.
Nowerdays every performance you attend has hundreds of fans videotaping these onto their digital cameras and then hosting it on the internet which is copyright infringement I would suggest also.
I imagine in the modern age it would be a massive problem for whoever manages groups.

Last edited: