Carpenters in Spatial Audio?

Kyle Thomas

Apple has begun pushing "spatial audio" lately -- their fancy word for Dolby Atmos, which gives a feel of 'surround sound' in my Bose headphones. I've listened to a few albums this way, including the 2021 mix of the Beatles' Let It Be and Ed Sheeran's latest release. It definitely brings out different elements of the mix.

I have a copy of the SACD from the Carpenters from 2004, but I've never actually heard it the way it was meant to be played. We've never splurged and gotten the appropriate equipment for it.

Are there any plans for having one of the Carpenters' compilations remixed for Dolby / spatial audio? It would seem the RPO release would be the easiest to convert, but I'm not an expert in these things...

I'd love to hear the Carpenters mixed for that 'high-quality headphones' experience, and I'm wondering if eventually they'll get the Dolby treatment too.

Apple has begun pushing "spatial audio" lately -- their fancy word for Dolby Atmos, which gives a feel of 'surround sound' in my Bose headphones. I've listened to a few albums this way, including the 2021 mix of the Beatles' Let It Be and Ed Sheeran's latest release. It definitely brings out different elements of the mix.

I have a copy of the SACD from the Carpenters from 2004, but I've never actually heard it the way it was meant to be played. We've never splurged and gotten the appropriate equipment for it.

Are there any plans for having one of the Carpenters' compilations remixed for Dolby / spatial audio? It would seem the RPO release would be the easiest to convert, but I'm not an expert in these things...

I'd love to hear the Carpenters mixed for that 'high-quality headphones' experience, and I'm wondering if eventually they'll get the Dolby treatment too.