The GREATEST HITS, and record stores

We had one Korvettes and I loved that store. I hit them up a lot back in the late 70's.
We had one about five miles away from the house--my dad would get his 35mm photo and 8mm movie film developed there, and I remember they also had an audio room. I always hopped into the car anytime we'd head over there. 😁

We had one about five miles away from the house--my dad would get his 35mm photo and 8mm movie film developed there, and I remember they also had an audio room. I always hopped into the car anytime we'd head over there. 😁
The Korvette's that we had was in Hampton. I had never heard of it before the summer of 1976. The local tunnel system had tolls and being a broke student, I did not go over that way. The tolls came off in 1976 and late that summer, I saw an ad for Korvette's in the southside newspapers and there was a huge sale on albums so a friend and I drove over there and I was amazed at the selection. I started hitting that store every few months until it closed.

I've just opened the Gallery of GREATEST HITS in the main Music Forum. Each image can be clicked on and enlarged twice for maximum readability. Enjoy.

None of our local stores had cutouts until Peaches came to the area. Our area was mostly dominated by a regional chain that had a fairly good selection of titles--no cutouts though, especially since they were jam-packed with records. Once I got a driver's license, though, that allowed me to get to Peaches more easily, so I didn't see cutouts until maybe 1980 or so.
None of the dedicated record stores I went to in the 70s (Crane's, a small L.A. chain, The Wherehouse, Tower Records) had cutouts. I found the CTi LPs I mentioned at White Front, a west coast discount department store chain that sold everything including appliances. Picture a "Big Box" store with a product mix of Target and Best Buy (for the time---1959 to mid-70s) and that's White Front.