ANYTHING GOES - Reviews and comments

Status
Not open for further replies.
Gameenjoyer, you and I share many views and opinions, FWIW. And, I am a veteran Herb Alpert/TJB fan and listener AND a veteran trumpet player myself.

Lani Hall is truly an excellent singer with superior vocal control, tone, and style. She was pretty much "the voice" of the A&M group Sergio Mendes and Brasil 66.

At the same time, for every track featuring Lani Hall (and thus Sergio, et.al.) that I have listened to, I have listened to Alpert tracks hundreds and hundreds of times.

So, it comes down to what we as individuals spin the most.

Both of them are wonderful artists. Which we listen to is a matter of purely personal preference.

I found the Advance CD at a used CD shop yesterday (in mint condition :)). Has anyone compared the Advance CD to the standard U.S. disc? Are the tracks identical? I know that the song titles are indentical, but do the two discs have identical versions throughout? The track times listed on Amazon and on the Advance CD differ for a few songs, but that may not mean anything.

Hi Keith.

I'm unaware of any differences between the advance Cd and the regular stock issue for ANYTHING GOES.

I know there was a minor difference between the advance CD and regular CD for the REWHIPPED disc.

Lifted from an old ReWHIPPED thread, details about the two different versions of the rewhipped "Bittersweet Samba", one found on the advance promo CD:

Captain Bacardi wrote:
For those of you who have the advanced copy of the CD: Notice that there's a difference on "Bittersweet Samba" in that there is a muted trumpet part at the beginning and in the middle on the actual release. This is missing on the advanced copy!
Capt. Bacardi

There are some interesting differences in the two "Bittersweet Samba" tracks.

The Advance CD starts with a cymbal crash leading to a push-and-pull Brazilian samba rhythm. Herb's initial trumpet note hits at the :09 mark.