Not open for further replies.


Charter A&M Corner Member
Staff member
Site Admin
Thread Starter
Sergio Mendes & Brasil '77
CBS/SONY #40AP 1671-2

Released 1973 ?

Album released in various places around the world as single discs with a different track order and different selections, including:

CBS/SONY #26AP 1316 ( 1978 )


Side One:
1. Love Music (D. Lambert - B. Potter) 3:17
2. Going Out Of My Head (T. Randazzo - B. Weinstein) 1:34
3. Like A Lover (O Cantador) (D. Caymmi - N. Motta) 4:55
4. Killing Me Softly With His Song (N. Gimbel - C. Fox) 3:45

Side Two:
1. Wave (A. C. Jobim) 3:57
2. I Can See Clearly Now (J. Nash) 2:58
3. Constant Rain (Chove Chuva) (J. Ben - N. Gimbel) 3:03
4. Come Over My Love 3:33
5. Something / Daytripper (G. Harrison / J. Lennon-P. McCartney) 6:17

Side Three:
1. Carnival Sound Medley / Jogo de Roda / Manha de Carnaval (E. Lobo - R. Guerra / A. Moraes - L. Bonfa) 13:30
2. Pradizer Adeus (To Say Goodbye) (E. Lobo - L. Hall) 4:40

Side Four:
1. Fool On The Hill (J. Lennon - P. McCartney) 3:15
2. The Look Of Love / Oye Como Va (B. Bacharach - H. David / T. Puente) 5:20
3. Scarborough Fair (A. Garfunkel - P. Simon) 4:50
4. Mas Que Nada (J. Ben) 2:40

Recorded live at Osaka Festival Hall and Tokyo Koseinenkin Hall, Japan, April 15th and 17th, 1973.

Lead Vocals: Bonnie Bowden, Gracinha Leporace
Bass: SebastiĆ£o Neto
Drums: Claudio Slon
Congos, Perscussion: Laudir Oliviera
Guitar: Oscar Castro Neves
Percussion: Paulinho da Costa
Piano, Keyboards: Sergio Mendes


Charter A&M Corner Member
Staff member
Site Admin
Thread Starter
One other album from Sergio in the '70s that is a bit of a mystery to some (including me) is a live album performed in Japan and released several times under different titles, with different lengths, and track orders. I believe it was originally a two-LP set with the chessboard cover pictured above and then later pared down to single albums, but I could be wrong. From what I could learn, the chess cover-two LP set may have been released as early as 1973, but I can't confirm it, as I don't own it. The concerts appear to have been recorded in 1973, so I guess it's possible.

My copy is the single disk GOLD DISC album pictured above which has a 1978 date on it. Other forum friends have sent me copies with different track lists.

For reference, the track list of my single disk GOLD DISC is:

Side One:
1. Mas Que Nada
2. One Note Samba / Spanish Flea
3. Wave
4. Like A Lover (O Cantador)
5. Pradizer Adeus (To Say Goodbye)
6. Constant Rain (Chove Chuva)
7. Scarborough Fair

Side Two:
1. Fool On The Hill
2. Something / Daytripper
3. Going Out Of My Head
4. The Look Of Love / Oye Como Va
5. I Can See Clearly Now
6. Love Music
7. Killing Me Softly With His Song

A CD-R sent to me by old forum friend Paula was titled CARNIVAL: LIVE IN JAPAN. It contained an additional track called "Jogo de Roda Manha de Carnaval", but it's length is 6:39, so I must be missing some "Carnival Sounds" as listed on the two-disc track listing.

Another CD-R sent by another old forum friend Jean-Carlo was titled GOLD DISC, but it only contained a different grouping of some of these same 11 tracks.

The one track I'm missing appears to be "Come Over My Love", which I've learned is an English title for a Japanese song. I'd love to hear it someday.

Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom