1. A&M Corner can now be found on Instagram! Follow us on our new account at @a.m.corner .
    You may also follow us on Twitter: @amcorner.
  2. We have received word that UMe is aware of the problem with the Carpenters vinyl releases, both the box sets and the individual LPs, and has offered a solution. To receive a replacement, send a proof of purchase to UMGCustomerSupport@umusic.com. UMe prefers email, but those who prefer phone contact may call 1-800-288-5942 to speak to Customer Support.

Official Review [Box Set]: "FROM THE TOP" (AM75021/6875)

Discussion in 'A Song For You: The Carpenters Forum' started by Chris May, Jun 14, 2007.


  1. ***** (BEST)

    33 vote(s)
  2. ****

    23 vote(s)
  3. ***

    6 vote(s)
  4. **

    1 vote(s)
  5. * (WORST)

    1 vote(s)
  1. Well, let's qualify it by saying that they originate from the same recorded "moments" and the same Palladium concert.

    On the PALLADIUM disc, "From This Moment On" is a longer recording. After analyzing it in Audacity, I can see that Richard's piano intro repeats itself making it 20 seconds long at the Palladium concert. On FROM THE TOP, ten seconds of this intro is chopped out.

    Once Karen's vocal begins, the two songs are identical (though the Palladium version is about .3% slower) up until the audience applause. Because it's a concert album, the applause goes on much longer than the FROM THE TOP version allows with its quicker fade-out.

    I also think that the FROM THE TOP version is equalized with a bit more highs than the Palladium version.
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2017
  2. GaryAlan

    GaryAlan Well-Known Member

    ^^Excellent analysis, Harry !
  3. I agree completely. I listened to Disc 1 tonight (being mid-November) and enjoyed it, but it may have been only the second or third time I've played it since 1991! Sad, but true. I think there were too many Christmas songs included and I certainly don't want to hear them (or have to skip them) 10 months out of the year.
  4. Mike Blakesley

    Mike Blakesley Well-Known Member Moderator

    The best way to listen to this set is to load it onto an iPad, then make a playlist of everything but the Christmas tunes, if you don't want to hear them. I've also got all my Christmas songs tagged with the "Christmas" genre on my iPod, that way I can select all of the Christmas tunes at once and select the "skip when shuffling" option.
    Jamesj75 likes this.
  5. I haven't listened to my iPod in even longer! LOL
  6. GaryAlan

    GaryAlan Well-Known Member

    Noticing that the song
    Iced Tea
    was produced by Rick Jarrard.
    Naturally, I wanted more information.
    Here is a link to Billboard Magazine, Page 4, October 29,1966.
    What is rather interesting is that Karen is never mentioned by name !
    "The drummer is Carpenter's 16-year-old sister. He is 19."

  7. Interesting. It was the "Richard Carpenter Trio" after all. Was he credited as producer for that song on From The Top?
    He also produced the David Cassidy album, Dreams Are Nuthin' More Than Wishes (a line from Nilsson's "Puppy Song", featured on the album).
  8. GaryAlan

    GaryAlan Well-Known Member

    ^^Yes, Rick Jarrard produced the RC Trio song--Iced Tea-- as heard on
    From The Top.
  9. I meant to say, was he listed in the credits for that song (as producer) on From The Top? If not, shouldn’t he have been?
  10. GaryAlan

    GaryAlan Well-Known Member

    ^^Yes, he is credited as such on that song, on the set.
  11. Interesting. I missed that. I'll have to look at my booklet again. Thanks!
  12. CraigGA

    CraigGA Well-Known Member

    I always wished it had A Song For You. I do however think that the commercials are a nice inclusion. Luckily, whatever this box set is without is in the Essential Collection. Both together make a great set. Add the SACD Singles for awesome sound and new mixes and Gold for some options on the remixes and all together we have a good picture into their career of songs. Add the Remastered Classics and it feels like a package from the heavens.

Share This Page

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)