• Two exciting new Carpenters releases are now available. The new book Carpenters: The Musical Legacy can be ordered here. A big thanks to the authors and Richard Carpenter for their tremendous effort in compiling this book! Also, the new solo piano album Richard Carpenter's Piano Songbook is available for ordering here.

Carpenters 2020


Charter A&M Corner Member
Staff member
Site Admin
Thread Starter
It occurred to me yesterday that Carpenters' canon already includes a compilation that is sort of titled for this year - 20/20. Well, there is that slash in the middle isn't there? Still, here we are in the year 2020, and they have a compilation from Japan called 20/20.


If you recall, this was a shortened single-disc compilation culled from the 2-disc 40/40 set. The disc was issued in Japan in SHM-CD materials.

Track listing:

1. Yesterday Once More (1991 remix)
2. Superstar (2004 remix)
3. Rainy Days And Mondays (1991 remix)
4. Top Of The World (1973 version)
5. Ticket To Ride (1973 version)
6. Baby It’s You (1987 remix)
7. Only Yesterday (1991 remix, single length edit)
8. Those Good Old Dreams
9. Jambalaya (On The Bayou) (1991 remix)
10. Bless The Beasts And Children (1990 remix)
11. This Masquerade (1990 remix)
12. Love Is Surrender (1987 remix)
13. Maybe It’s You (1990 remix)
14. Reason To Believe (1987 remix)
15. For All We Know (1990 remix)
16. Crystal Lullaby (1987 remix)
17. I Believe You
18. (They Long To Be) Close To You (1991 remix)
19. I Need To Be In Love (1990 remix)
20. We’ve Only Just Begun (1985 remix)

It's interesting that fully six of the tracks were originally found on the CLOSE TO YOU album.

A&M Retro

Well-Known Member
Interesting that ‘Goodbye To Love’ isn’t included, but the b-side, ‘Crystal Lullaby’, made the final cut.

Don Malcolm

Well-Known Member
There's no truth to the rumor that the Japanese curators for 20/20 were held at gunpoint by yours truly (among the most devoted fans of the C's 2nd LP) in order to get so many of the songs from that album onto this CD... :cool:

Add "Goodbye to Love" and "Road Ode" and remove "Those Good Old Dreams" and "Jambalaya" and for my money you've got an endlessly listenable single CD. I'd tinker with track order a bit, but it's a honey of a song lineup.

Rick-An Ordinary Fool

Well-Known Member
That's funny about the title and with the new year ha
It would make a great compilation theme for 2020 with "Those Good Old Dreams" included it's just missing "Look To Your Dreams"
Top Bottom