Carpenters tributes???

Modernlydie

Hey there, newbie here (although I have been reading posts on and off for a couple of years)
I have to say, thank you for your love and dedication to The Carpenters. You have been a huge resource to me over the years when I have questions.
I have searched to see if this topic has been brought up before but I can't find it. Could be because it's a no go area so apologies if this offends.

Do you go and see tribute acts?
I have been researching them a lot as I have started one and I wanted to gauge opinion on what audiences liked and responded well to.
Well...I have to say, I am not best pleased with what I've seen.
I have been in love with The Carpenters since the age of 9.
Personally, a tribute HAS to be as close as possible to that artist. Especially in Karen's case, with having such a perfect sound, it's difficult to recreate. If the tribute artist is not close enough to the sound, for me, I'd rather them do a 'cover's show' as again, personally, I think it does a disservice to the original artist.
It annoys me that some people earn thousands being a tribute act and don't sound anything like her!!
I can post links to videos of those tribute that I have seen that enrage me so. I can also post links to those few pearls who are absolutely amazing and make me feeling like giving up!! :)

As I said, I have formed a tribute because when I did covers of Carpenters songs, so many people encouraged me to because they said I sounded so much like her. I have a similar tone, but I am nowhere near the perfection of Karen's voice.
So, I have a few questions.
Would you prefer to see a tribute or covers band or not at all?
How close does the sound to the original does a tribute band have to be?
If you were to see a tribute, would you rather hear a recreation of the studio recordings, live performances or a mix of both?
I already have a 90 mins set but what are the absolute must tracks that you would HAVE to hear if you went to see a tribute?