If I Was Producing Herb Alpert

David S

In the spirit of Jerry Moss, I’d have him do an album of songs about streets, roads or highways, or activities from such. To wit:

Beautiful Noise

On the Road Again

Street of Dreams

Route 101

Ventura Highway

Carefree Highway

Up Cherry Street

Route 66

Basin Street Blues

Baker Street

Take Me Home, Country Roads

The Long and Winding Road

I would also add among the candidates:

Green Flower Street (a Donald Fagen song from The Nightfly)

Hit The Road, Jack (Herb would have fun with this one!)

Road Song (Wes Montgomery)

Four80East has a lot to choose from: Viaduct, Bumper to Bumper, Drive Time, En Route, Positraction...especially En Route as I could totally hear Herb playing that melody.

Unquity Road (Pat Metheny)

Well of course I'm no producer, but going by what I know of producers and what I've observed in Herb's career....he has almost always had a "co-producer," whether it be Jerry Moss or Jam & Lewis or Jose Quintana or any of a bunch of others. Meaning he likes to get outside input, which is probably coming in the form of opinions on the overall sound, song choices, whatever.

So in THAT spirit, if I was going to be a producer, I would offer an opinion more about the sound and direction of the album. I'd say "Herb, you consider yourself a jazz player, and you ARE a good jazz player, but in reality, whether you want to believe it or not, you are a jazz player with a pop player's sensibilities. How else could you have come up with all those TJB hit singles?"

I'd say, "You have a great pop album inside of you trying to get out. That's why on every recent album, there are two or three KILLER pop songs, but oftentimes the rest tends to all kinda sound the same. (Sorry Herb, this is just the producer in me talking.)"