Sergio Interview in L.A. Times

Status
Not open for further replies.

Captain Bacardi

Here's a copy of an interview of Sergio that was in yesterday's Entertainment section of the L.A. Times:

http://www.latimes.com/entertainment/news/la-ca-conversation-20110306,0,3358553.story

The Sunday Conversation: Sergio Mendes
59829567.jpg

Grammy winner Sergio Mendes, 70, one of Brazil's most famous exports, kicks off his 50th anniversary in the music business with a new album, "Celebration," compiling a half-century of hits; his first film score, the animated film "Rio"; and a special engagement at the Geffen Playhouse in Westwood from Thursday through March 13.

You started playing Brazilian nightclubs in the '50s just as bossa nova was emerging. Take us back to the beginning.

When I was 18, there was a club in Rio de Janeiro called the Bottles Bar, and that's where I started playing. I had the Sergio Mendes Trio, and that became a place where musicians used to hang. And by that time, bossa nova was starting. This was 1961, and it was a wonderful time in Rio. The bossa nova was such a fresh innovative style of playing Brazilian music. The songs were so beautiful, and most of them were written by Antonio Carlos Jobim.

So he was the creator?

He was the most important songwriter and the creator of that style. So he was a big influence on all of us. And he used to come to the Bottles Bar, and we used to talk. And then I did my first record and asked him if he would write some arrangements for me, which he did. I used to live in a town across the bay from Rio called Niteroi, so I'd go to his house in Ipanema and work until 3, f4 in the morning. And he had a little blue Volkswagen bug and he used to drive me to the ferry boat and we kept talking until 5, 6 in the morning and I'd go back to Niteroi.