Thad Jones/Mel Lewis

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rudy

¡Que siga la fiesta!
Staff member
Site Admin
Anyone know of a good starting point, or a good classic TJ/ML album I can begin collecting with?

Came across an MP3 file online, of the song "Ahunk, Ahunk", which we used to play in our jazz band class. A couple other tracks I'd heard sound interesting. These may have come from that recent Mosaic set, which I think is now sold out. (Had I known...) There's usually a prime era for any band or artist--I'd sort of like to get one or two good albums to see what I like.

I still don't regret getting the 10-CD Roulette Maynard Ferguson set--IMHO, that had to be one of his best eras, with some of his best ensembles and arrangements. Don Ellis...I only have a few, but they're always interesting.

I'm still beginning to explore Stan Kenton, too. I guess I'm too young, but to me, the Kenton big band approach still sounds very fresh, and could have been recorded merely a year or two ago, not three or four decades ago. I can see how the Kenton band would have been considered ahead of its time. One of the Kenton CDs I have features Pat Senatore flying up and down the upright bass. :wink: (That would be Adventures In Jazz.)

-= N =-

Rudy said:
Anyone know of a good starting point, or a good classic TJ/ML album I can begin collecting with?

I don't know if it's classic or not, but a couple of their albums I enjoy are Potpourri on the Philadelphia International label, and either Suite For Pops or Live In Munich on Horizon. I've played several of their charts in various stage bands, but at the moment I can't recall the titles. They were all blues-based tunes, though, and kind of funky.

Rudy said:
I still don't regret getting the 10-CD Roulette Maynard Ferguson set--IMHO, that had to be one of his best eras, with some of his best ensembles and arrangements.

I was just listening to his Si, Si, MF the other day. Lots of bravado in that trumpet section! :cool:

Rudy said: