1. A&M Corner can now be found on Instagram! Follow us on our new account at @a.m.corner .
    You may also follow us on Twitter: @amcorner.
  2. We have received word that UMe is aware of the problem with the Carpenters vinyl releases, both the box sets and the individual LPs, and has offered a solution. To receive a replacement, send a proof of purchase to UMGCustomerSupport@umusic.com. UMe prefers email, but those who prefer phone contact may call 1-800-288-5942 to speak to Customer Support.

Official Review [Video]: "INTERPRETATIONS"

Discussion in 'A Song For You: The Carpenters Forum' started by Chris May, Apr 7, 2015.


  1. 1.) Without A Song 1:01 (Youmans/Rose/Eliscu)

    8 vote(s)
  2. 2.) Superstar 3:49 (Russell/Bramlett)

    2 vote(s)
  3. 3.) Rainy Days and Mondays 3:36 (Williams/Nichols)

    3 vote(s)
  4. 4.) Ticket to Ride 4:10 (Lennon/McCartney) *

    0 vote(s)
  5. 5.) Reason to Believe 3:03 (Hardin)

    2 vote(s)
  6. 6.) (They Long To Be) Close To You 4:33 (Bacharach/David)

    1 vote(s)
  7. 7.) Calling Occupants of Interplanetary Craft 7:07 (Woloschuk/Draper)

    1 vote(s)
  8. 8.) Little Girl Blue 3:24 (Rodgers/Hart)

    2 vote(s)
  9. 9.) Bless The Beasts and Children 7:07 (De Vorzon/Botkin, Jr.)

    0 vote(s)
  10. 10.) Please Mr. Postman 2:50 (Holland/Gorman/Dobbins/Bateman/Garrett) *

    5 vote(s)
  11. 11.) We've Only Just Begun 3:04 (Williams/Nichols)

    0 vote(s)
  12. 12.) When I Fall In Love 3:08 (Heyman/Young)

    1 vote(s)
  13. 13.) From This Moment On 2:39 (Porter)

    5 vote(s)
  1. Chris May

    Chris May Resident 'Carpenterologist' Moderator Thread Starter

    Just to further clarify, the piano track(s) you hear between the two mixes is actually different.

    The original was cut mono in 1980, and can be heard as you mention on the '94 UK release of this compilation. For the '95 US release, Richard actually re-played the entire thing so that it could be not only mixed in stereo, but also given a little more "spunk" than the original performance.

    Not too long after he did that session, engineer Bill Smith (who was then a second man at Capitol and part of the project with Richard) was working with me on a project over at A&M. He recalled how blown away he was at Richard's some-odd "30 or so takes" he did in order to nail it, as there was no click track in which to reference - only Karen's voice! To quote Bill, "Richard was a MONSTER on that piano!"
    newvillefan likes this.
  2. While I often like the remixes, I prefer the first version with the mono piano, only because it has the effect of making Karen's vocal stand out a little more. It also gives the UK INTERPRETATIONS a little more purpose in this world, as it's the only place to find that mix.
    Chris May likes this.
  3. Chris May

    Chris May Resident 'Carpenterologist' Moderator Thread Starter

    I agree wholeheartedly. And not to veer slightly off topic here (shifting from the video discussion to correlating album release), but I also mentioned elsewhere that I prefer the mastering on the UK release to the US release of the CD, particularly on Trying To Get The Feeling Again, as the cut found on the US release seems a bit over compressed.
  4. Is there a YouTube link where i can hear the mono version?
  5. newvillefan

    newvillefan Well-Known Member

    I'm the opposite - I think the US version of the song sounds crisper, as if the drums have been re-recorded.
    Mary Beth likes this.
  6. GaryAlan

    GaryAlan Well-Known Member

    Of all of the single-disc Compilations,
    the Interpretations (21-song,Canada) is really a stand-out for me.
    As much as I love the cd Love Songs,
    wins the day for me.
    Unfortunately, I believe the inclusion of Make Believe Its Your First Time on Love Songs
    is the 'sticking point' for me--simply too weak a song (imho).
    Karen's drumming is featured (5 songs) on Interpretations:
    Sing,This Masquerade,When It's Gone,Ticket To Ride,Please Mr. Postman.
    Plus, "New" Karen Vocals:
    Without A Song and Trying To Get The Felling Again,From This Moment On.

    Be that as it may,
    Love Songs went Gold (certified June 12,2000)
    Interpretations did not match those sales--
    too bad !
  7. newvillefan

    newvillefan Well-Known Member

    Does anyone else remember the UK TV advert for Interpretations? There were two versions, both featured a woman standing painting a portrait at an easel and the songs featured included Desperado and Solitaire.

    For those of you who haven't seen it, the below clip features Richard being interviewed at his home in Downey about the Interpretations release in 1994.

    GaryAlan likes this.
  8. GaryAlan

    GaryAlan Well-Known Member

    ^^Thanks for the memories !
    Had not noticed before, but the official Carpenter Webpage--in the recordings section--
    fails to include cd Love Songs.
    And, while that page does include (a photo of)
    it provides no information of the songs on that cd !
  9. arthowson

    arthowson Active Member

    The title and track listing of this album pisses me off. I was hoping for an album of Carpenters (Interpreting) songs that other people made famous. We've Only Just Begun and Rainy Days and Mondays have no place on this album.

    It would follow that Passage, could have been called Interpretations because ALL of the songs were written by other people.

    My dream 21 songs would have been

    1. Desperado
    2. Postman
    3. Ticket
    4. Breaking Up Is Hard To Do
    5. Beachwood
    6. Masquerade
    7. A Song For You
    8. Can't Smile
    9. Tryin to get the feeling
    10. When I Fall In Love
    11. Just Fall in Love Again
    12. Hush
    13. Johnny Angel
    14. Little Girl Blue
    15. Dream, Can't I
    16. Reason to Believe
    17. Magic Moments Como parts only
    18. Close Encounters/Star Wars
    19. Richard's You'll Never Know
    20. Vegas Bacharach Medley
    21. Studio version of Thank You For The Music

Share This Page

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)