Why We Chose the Avatar We Did

Mark-T

It dawned on me this weekend that we each have unique avatars. Thought it might be fun to share we why chose what we did. I'll start.

Years back when I was young and broke, I saw this photo of Karen inside the "Anthology" music book. Loved it instantly, and I knew it to be from the Hush photo sessions.

Not having a reason to buy the book as I'm not a musician, I passed on it.

Years later, it came to my mind, so I asked about it on the forum.
Murray had it and graciously sent me a scan of it. So, I adopted it as my avatar.

There's a wistful look on Karen's face with a vulnerability I sensed that I have associated with her in the years since her passing.

Interestingly, I posted it on my blog, and it has become one of the most downloaded images I have.

There's my reasons for choosing my particular avatar. What are yours?

Good idea Mark! I often wonder when I see these images what they mean to the person posting.

My avatar: "It is VERY me, a young man in his skivvies, kicking back and listening to music in his headphones, with not a care in the world!"

The image is called "Sanctuary" and it is a very important place for Introverts. It is part of a larger painting by an artist named Paul Richmond. I'm not into all of his work, but this title caught my attention as it is a special word for me. I've used it in various blogs I've participated in, and it's origin is one of the questions I've been asked the most over the years. The image represents me in a way, but no, it is not me. :)