A senior citizen "newby" story

Hi folks! I think I may have a different story than many others here. I'm an American male on his second (VERY happy) marriage who grew up loving classical music, then discovered the Beatles. As a teenager, I was mostly interested in British progressive rock. I liked Buffalo Springfield, CSNY, Eagles, etc. But I was happiest going to a Yes, Tull, Genesis, or Supertramp concert. Of course, I was aware of the Carpenters, but I thought of that as "pop" music that my parents would approve of, so never I really gave them much thought.

I was still in this mode when I heard of Karen's passing and saw that shocking cover on People magazine. "How could that happen?" I thought to myself: What a shame, and moved on. So how did I get here? A bit of personal history...

I was a HISTORY enthusiast. It was my major in college, and after 20 years in the investing field, I got my post-graduate degree in Teaching Secondary Social Sciences (in USA that means teaching high school history). This came about after teaching some adult classes on different subjects (oneof which was a very popular class on the Beatles.) I'm good at what I do (so I have been told) and I transferred that into 20 years in the classroom (and still teach a bit on the side because I love it.)

So, where do the Carpenters come in? Pure chance. Three years ago, it's Christmas time, and I'm listening to Christmas songs on satellite radio. On comes, "No place like home for the holidays." I was waiting to pick up one of my children and with the clarity of satellite radio and a premium sound system in my car, it all comes together. The arrangement is so good. I think to myself, "man, that woman had an EXPRESSIVE voice, even on such a oft-recorded song, this version stands out." And I started adding their offerings to my Christmas playlist.