• Our Album of the Week features will return next week.

Brasil 66 "EXPO 70 - Live"

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mike

I just received the Sergio Mendes & Brasil 66 “Expo 70” CD, recorded live in Osaka, Japan (April 5, 1970). This is my first time to hear Brasil 66 in a live performance and it’s quite enjoyable. While it is obviously not as slick as a studio-produced album, it has a lot of charm. When they perform “Day Tripper” and the audience is clapping to the beat of the music, it really makes me wish I was there – it must have been great. If you’re a fan I’d recommend getting this CD. If you’ve already got it, wipe off the dust and give it a listen; it’s a lot of fun.

It is good. Personally I like the Brasil 77 live CD, "In Concert," better though, mostly because of its song lineup. (If that disk had Lani and Karen on vocals, along with Gracinha, it would be perfect! Not that Geri Stevens is bad, but she's no Lani.)

Brasil '77 Live on CD? Are you talking about first live Brasil '77 album? If so, I didn't realize it had been released on CD. So far as I know, most everything of Sergio's has been released on CD, short of MAGIC LADY and BRASIL '77 LIVE (with Geri Stevens).

Jon

No, it's not Brasil '77, It's Brasil '66. The CD is a Japanese pressing: Universal International UICY - 3710 (With A&M logo).

Oops! Sorry Jon, I thought you were responding to me. After re-reading your comments it's obvious that you were responding to to Mike B. Please disregard my last post.

Regards, Mike