• Our Album of the Week features will return next week.

The real VOL. 2 back cover

Status
Not open for further replies.

Megomark

I have been collecting Herb Alpert for almost 30 years and I have only been able to find ONE copy of HERB ALPERT'S TIJUANA BRASS VOL. 2 with the original back cover. This would be the one with the album title listed very big (similar to THE LONELY BULL) and one small portrait shot of Herb on top, and another "posed" picture (Herb in Bullfighter garb with trumpet and two other guys, likewise) near the bottom. How rare are these?

I usually only see the portrait shot back cover (large b&w shot of Herb with Trumpet). I'm guessing that these copies would be of post-WHIPPED CREAM vintage? I always figured A&M changed back covers along the way, since these common ones list catalog items past #103.

Any idea on how many original rear covers are around?

Welcome to the Corner Megomark.

I've only ever found one myself, and not even through trying very hard. I ordered a bunch of mono/stereo copies of the albums through a lot on eBay, and one of the records was this first version of VOLUME 2.

It's certainly the rarer of the two, since it only appeared that way upon original release - and it didn't sell all that well. I suspect most copies ended up on the west coast, where the TjB was a more regionally known act. I've NEVER seen one in a store here on the east coast.

The one I got features the standard ochre label with the A&M logo at the 9 o'clock position with the title and artist at the top, but scrunched down toward the center hole. Mine's also a stereo copy.

My copy of the prior album to this, George McCurn's album (#102), the second for the label, has the beige label with the logo at the 12 o'clock position.

Someone with a collecting-value catalog might have a better idea of the worth or how many might have been put into circulation.

Harry
...looking over his early copy of VOLUME 2, online...