What does A&M stand for?

Status
Not open for further replies.

aymnostalgico

Well now that I have bragging rights of being a new member and I've gotten my feet wet by posting a few, I want to know a little bit more about this company that I have been listening to for over 20 years now without even knowing. Why does A&M have this nostalgic feeling to it and also how did it become so much part of collectors that it ended up like this. I am beginning to feel like this myself. why no other record company have been able to achieve this status? The closes thing I could find would have to be RCA Victor and the little dog with the vitrolla<---is this how you spell that?

Well, A&M started in 1962 as a partnership between Herb Alpert and Jerry Moss, so that's the A and M. A&M was huge in the '60's with acts like the Tijuana Brass and The Baja Marimba Band and Sergio Mendes and Brasil66. Burt Bacharach also recorded for A&M, as well. The best pop acts, in my opinion, were on the label...and the songs they recorded were the soundtrack of the era. We all dig that music, so that's why we gather here. When you get right down to it, it's amazing just how much a part of our lives those songs really were. A&M Records is a pop icon, no question about it. It's a shame that it's been reduced to a shadow of it's former self by corporate restructuring.

Dan

Thanks, Harry, for pointing the way back to that highly interesting post from last year. What does Jerry Moss mean when he says--

Then, in December of ’62, A&M released its first album, also titled “The Lonely Bull.” Jerry recalls, “Nobody covered the single, but on the album they really came down very hard. In all, there were about 8 or 9 cover versions.”

Is he talking about other bands/artists doing cover versions of various songs from the Lonely Bull album? Or of just "The Lonely Bull" (song)? And who were those artists?

Mike A
NP: "A Quiet Tear"