• Our Album of the Week features will return in June.

Where were you?

Status
Not open for further replies.

goodjeans

Another anniversary and another cloudy day. How appropriate. I was an intern at wcau the morning that I heard the awful news of Karen's death. The news came over on some paper thing that feeds breaking news. My job was to go into the archives and find a photo of Karen. The latest photo available was a group photo for some Grammy gathering. It was a surreal and terrible day. My other full time job was waitering at some dump. I was in the "lounge" area and "A Song For You" came on. When it had finished there was a long pause, and then the D.J had remarkable and complimentary comments regarding Karen. My manager was an a**hole and it didn't take much that day for me to be fired. I remember that day so well...I miss you Karen.

I was working at my Pacific Bell office- and my sister called me to tell me about Karen's death. She was always playing practical trciks on me, so I wrongly assumed this was one of those as well.
Rest in Peace, Karen. Thanks for making our lives so much richer.

I was at work and received a call from my best friend telling me of Karen's passing. I was shocked - as the world was - and it was very hard for me to get through the day. When I arrived home that afternoon I listened to "A Song For You" over and over and over.

Even after all these years it is still so hard to believe that she is gone. But, as Richard said, she left an incredible legacy and that music will be around forever.