Favorite musical tribute to Karen by Richard?

Favorite musical tribute to Karen by Richard?

• Total voters

Without A Song

I've never done a poll here before so apologies if I don't get this quite right. I've heard both of these songs recently and thought this would be a good question for the forum. While the songs differ in approach, one with vocals, one without, I find they both have a pleasant sense of wistfulness in them, acknowledging the sadness of Karen's absence while also paying tribute to her beautiful spirit, which will last forever because that's how long folks will continue to marvel at her unforgettable voice.

It was a tough choice for me but ultimately my preference for vocals won out. Plus I consider "When Time Was All We Had" Richard's best lead vocal on "Time," followed closely by "Who Do You Love." Having Herb Alpert playing trumpet on the track doesn't hurt either!

One thing I've always wondered about when it comes to this song is why there was no acknowledgement of it in Paul Grein's review of "Time" in the Los Angeles Times when the album came out in 1987. It was given two stars, one each presumably for the songs Dionne Warwick and Dusty Springfield performed lead vocals. Paul didn't think Richard had what it took to be a lead singer. No quarrel with that opinion, I know plenty of people here share it. I don't see though how you could do a proper review of the album without acknowledging Richard's first musical tribute to Karen. My guess then and now is that Paul did mention it but that part was cut for space. I used to work in newspapers and it pained me when some really interesting detail in a story was cut for space purposes. Anyway, just curious.

Last edited: