• Our Album of the Week features will return next week.

Herb's attitude toward tribute bands

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi, everybody.
I'm a new member, and I'm also new to online forums, so I'm doubly ignorant about this. I hope I don't click the wrong button and vaporize this website.
I have a question that I did not see addressed in previous posts:
What is Herb's attitude toward to the many TJB tribute bands that have sprouted up over the years? supportive? amused? neutral? annoyed? I'm putting one together, and I'd be interested to know if anyone has any information on this topic. Thanks!

I don't know what Mr. Alpert thinks but I think it's cool that you're putting together a tribute band. What songs are you planning to play and what is going to be your instrumentation? later..................Jay

7 pieces: 2 trumpets, trombone/percussion, mallets (marimba/vibes), guitar, bass, drums. I want to do as much of the repertoire as I can, not just the big hits. In fact, I kinda prefer a lot of the less well-known tunes.
The only reason we'd leave anything out is if a tune can't be done with our instrumentation (like Moon River, for example). And I'm not sure yet whether to include the tunes with vocals.
We're also going to do some Baja Marimba Band stuff, and maybe some Jobim tunes and other bossa novas from the early/mid 1960s.
Thanks, Jay.
I guess I didn't vaporize the website (yet).

I think we ought to book this guy to play at the A&M Corner Convention, if we ever have one. :)

I think Herb would be flattered at a tribute band that takes the music seriously. He doesn't seem to mind all the goofy parody bands, since they seem to be mentioned in every single booklet in the TJB reissues.