• Our Album of the Week features will return next week.

Carpenters Christmas Albums

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rick-An Ordinary Fool

I pulled out my Carpenters Christmas LP's:

Christmas Portrait
An Old-Fashioned Christmas

Looking at the back covers I studied the asteriks giving credit to who Produced, Arranged & Orchestrated these wonderful albums

I was really quite suprised at how many tracks Richard did not Arrange.

These are the Tracks Listed that were Arranged by Richard:

Christmas Portrait
Arranged by Richard Carpenter *** (asteriks) JUST TWO TRACKS
O Come, O Come Immanuel
Merry Christmas Darling

An Old-Fashioned Christmas
Arranged by Richard Carpenter ** (asteriks) JUST TWO TRACKS
It Came Upon A Midnight Clear
Santa Claus is Comin to Town

Was this because Richard was too busy Producing the Albums and couldn't also Arrange or did he choose to not Arrange most of these? Didn't he have to turn over alot of the reins to others?

I just always considered even the instrumentals, all Richard's doing. Maybe I don't really understand what it means to be credited as Arranger.

I still think as a whole these albums have really stood the test of time.

P.S. I found a notation that I can't reference, on the track, Santa Claus is Comin to Town, there are ** (two asteriks for arranged by Richard) then a Cross Symbol, what does the Cross Symbol reference to??? I can't find what that means.

Yes, Chris, I agree that the Christmas recordings have stood the test of time. They are such classics and incredibly beautiful. They will never go out of style.

It's interesting that Richard had recently commented in some Japan liner notes that since he did not have as much involvement in the Christmas recordings, he said that "Christmas Portrait" should have been credited to Karen Carpenter alone. It was her solo showcase. Actually I like that idea since Karen is the star of those Christmas songs arranged by Peter Knight.