• Our Album of the Week features will return next week.

May I introduce to you..

Status
Not open for further replies.

gmonet

I would like to introduce you to the real me. I am glad to be amoung other audiophiles. I have been collecting records and music since before many of you were probably born. I am an artist and graduated from Parson's School of Design in New York. I was an illustrator, but now teach and love to paint fine art. Mostly watercolors. I am well known for my jazz history series. I plan to do a number of A&M artists soon because I have been collecting most of them since Herb Alpert had just gotten over puberty. I want to point out to many of you, that my knowlege of music may be not as great as some of you, I am an encyclopedia of almost very genre of music except operatic librettos. For example, I underline I, have the original A&M Holiday Christmas LP with the most awesome version of Mel Torme's Christmas Song by Sergio Mendes and Brasil 66. This is NOT mentioned on the SM discography, but is unique to any of the other examples because it is on no other compilation I know of. I love the fact that A&M gave us unique recordings through the genius of Creed Taylor and will cherish my mint condition A&M discs. I hope to interact with many of you in the future. Thanks for having me in your forum.

All I can say is:

:tongue:artyhat: Happy Holidays and Welcome Aboard! :tongue:artyhat:

(We won't pick on you too much, until we know ya better. :D )

Welcome to the Forum, gmonet! You'll find that most of us hardcore A&M'ers are well aware of that magical Christmas album that A&M released back in the '60s called Something Festive. I am particularly fond of that "Christmas Song" by Sergio Mendes & Brasil '66, and know painfully well that it's never been available anywhere else.

I remember pestering my father to run us over to the nearest BF Goodrich store to buy that album when it was new.

Harry
...an original Something Festive-er, online...