Record and tape clubs, video clubs...which did you use?

Rudy

¡Que siga la fiesta!
Staff member
Site Admin
Since record clubs were brought up in other threads, I figured it might be fun to revisit the topic here in its own thread.

There have been a lot of clubs over the years, both for music and video. My record buying years coincided with the prime Columbia House era, and I never really knew of many others that had existed earlier. So anyone with insight into those older clubs could make this discussion really interesting!

GDB2LV

My first was RCA Music Club 1971. I got cassettes of Bee Gees 2 Years On, Elton John Tumbleweed Connection, and Iron Butterfly Metamorphosis. I was a freshman in high school. 2 out of three were great. Lol
I used RCA again in the late 90’s to early 2000’s for box sets. They often had buy 1 get 1 free. Great deals. They faded away, just like chain music stores. I believe I used Columbia house for one cycle in the 80’s. I hated those post cards every 6 weeks. If you didn’t mail them back right away, they sent and billed you their pick of the month. Too much work to return them.

Rudy

¡Que siga la fiesta!
Staff member
Site Admin
Music-wise, I never subscribed to Columbia House, although many times I used to glue the stickers onto the cards to pick my favorites from the bunch. Since my tastes were always outside the mainstream, it was sometimes tricky to find enough to fill the card for my free selections.

In the 90s, though, I did take advantage of the BMG Music Club and probably joined them a couple of times once my required purchases were completed. 😁 There was another music subscription service that spun off from them, but I can't remember the name of it now. (I remember getting some Elton John SACDs from them, and a few others, since the prices were so inexpensive.)