"SINGLES" Box Set Clarification from Richard;

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris May

Resident ‘Carpenterologist’
Staff member
As the release date for this box set nears, and many questions surrounding it, I've spoken with Richard Carpenter's assistant Becky Boxberger to get direct information regarding the mixes included in this set, and the discrepancies in communication.

Becky said:
As far as Richard and I know, these "singles" are original mixes. Richard took time to review the request and specify the source, and the guys at the Universal Music archives spent time searching for the correct tracks. I have no knowledge of any alterations, and have not had any correspondence from Shun illuding to changes.

The gentleman "Shun" that she refers to is project coordinator on this release in Japan. Hope this clears up any confusion. -Chris

Becky said:
As far as Richard and I know, these "singles" are original mixes.
Well, that helps a little, but one still might wonder about discrepancies that might have originally occured between Japanese and US singles (were there any?), and if Richard might be referring to original "album mixes" as opposed to original "single mixes". There were some differences, some very minor, in terms of slightly different fade points, and the actual emphasis of certain musical elements over others.

My biggest concern here is whatever differences that could have occured betwen US and Japanese releases. Since I never heard the Japanese 45 singles, I wouldn't know what's authentic and what's not - hence my hesitation to spring for the big bucks for this set.

Sorry to be such a pessimistic stick-in-the-mud here, but I'm just not clear about these and what they are.

Harry

I tend to agree with Harry, original mixes could mean album mixes or single mixes. I almost would have been more convinced if he used the word single versions instead of mixes.