CTI information

Status
Not open for further replies.

seashorepiano

For "Samba Blim," the liner notes were written by Ira Gitler, and they were excellent for the time. Gitler also penned the notes for Wes's "Down Here on the Ground."

... Dave (brushing off the dust on a copy of Herb's Christmas Album)

Ira Gitler has penned more than 100 LP liners and written several books. And so, I'm curious as to where you're headed with your entry.

I don't appreciate your rudeness in asking aloud where I'm headed with that entry. I apologize tremendously for not knowing about Ira Gitler's extensive output. I am fairly new to the CTI world, and for that matter, I'm only 19 years old. Sorry I wasn't born in the 1950s, where I probably would have known all this by now.

I thought Gitler's notes to "Samba Blim" were well written. Evidently Gitler was very keen on the Tamba 4's music. He said in the first paragraph that the bossa nova era had *commercially* "come to an end," but the pioneers of the northern, light Brazilian sound were still persevering in their efforts. His notes touched me because he knew that Tamba 4's recordings were the real thing, real bossa nova, not just generic spin-offs that countless others recorded in the 1960s.

At any rate, I thought that this was a forum where people could bring up whatever they wanted that was pertinent to A&M. I don't think you had the right to attack me because I didn't say any more about Gitler right off the bat, but I simply wanted to discuss Tamba 4 and his notes eventually. That's all I have to say in the matter, and I won't be replying to this thread again.

Dave -