• Our Album of the Week features will return next week.

Bless the Beasts and Children- 1991 Karoke Remix

Status
Not open for further replies.

andywithaz

I've had noticed this for a long time and never got around to posting it but...

After listening to the 1991 Karoke remix of Bless the Beasts and the Children, I have come to the conclusion that it is sped up or a tone higher or something. I am not really technical so I don't know how to describe it.

At first, I thought it was just me, but than I did a side by side comparison and I could definitely hear the difference.

Thought you guys might like to know.

I've just done a comparison of four different versions of "Bless the Beasts" (1972 original, 1985 remix, 1991 karaoke mix and 1991 remix), and they're all in the same key.

If anything, the original album version is maybe four or five cents sharp of the remix (a cent is 1/100 of a half-step). This would be a variation in tape speed of about 4-5%, which makes sense in that the original album version of the song clocks in a couple of seconds shorter than the remix. This is such a minor difference that it most likely is explained by very minor variations in the playback speed of the equipment on which the songs were mastered for CD -- not an intentional thing.

But all versions are definitely in the same key.

There is a key change at the end of the song -- it modulates up at around 2:37. So if you listen to the end of one version followed by the beginning of another version, it won't be in the same key. Maybe that's what you're hearing.

David

David, I am sorry but I disagree with you. I compared the Karoke mix to the 1991 remix and the Karoke mix is a different key. It almost sounds like it is faster, kinda sped up like the 45 version but not as much.

Does anybody else think anything different?