• Our Album of the Week features will return next week.

Sergio! please read!! very important to me...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Timbalero

Hola Sergio,

First of all, i would like to congratulate you on your success and great music! I've been your fan ever since i herd that soccer Brazilian commercial with your hit song "Mais que nada"..., you're one of my favorite composers of all time, if not the best!!

I am a music student at Florida International University. I am currently attending a class entitled music business and we are working on a class project in which we have to produce an album from scratch. We are putting together music from different local bands and some student's music. I recently composed a song entitled "El Color del Tambor" , it speaks about how important the color of the drum is (refering to the african roots in all of our music, from colombian cumbia, to cuban salsa, to peruvian festejo, to brasilian samba...), so there's one part in my song in which I turn the song into a samba in respect to the great music that goes in Brasil..., so I couldn't resist but to put your "Mais que nada" chorus in it.., it sounds great and it is genious.., If you have some time, go check it out so you can listen to it.. go to www.myspace.com/tonysuccar (its the 1st song)

So what I want to ask you is for your permission to use this on this class project..., I really want to put this song on this album, but ofcourse i'll have to have your okay..

well, thank you for your time maestro

your friend,
Tony Succar

Tony,

While your post is well-intentioned, it's a bit misplaced. A&M Corner is a fan site, not affiliated with Mr. Mendes. While we hope he drops in here, we don't know that he does.

One of our moderators is in contact with the Mendes family; he might want to pass your request on, but there is no guarantee of this. Meantime, you might want to contact Universal Music Group - they own the rights to the original "Mas Que Nada."