• Our Album of the Week features will return next week.

A little bit of A&M on the wireless....

Status
Not open for further replies.

TonyCurrie

Industry Member
Many of you will know that - as a hobby - I've been running an internet radio station for several years. Now we've gone further and launched it on shortwave, via a transmitter in Maine, for an hour every evening.

Although the web station plays only unsigned bands, this isn't the case with the shortwave programmes, and I will be reviging a show I presented some years ago on another station. It's called THE LIVELY LOUNGE and will feature only "pop" instrumentals - e.g. Burt Bacharach, Tony Hatch, Henry Mancini, Sounds Orchestral, Percy Faith .... and of course Herb Alpert.

This weekend is the first show, and includes a sequence with a Peter Nero track from his "Salutes Herb Alpert" album; then Herb & Ry Cooder; then a Baja Marimba track. The plan is to do a three-track A&M element in each show (they're fortnightly) with Herb, the Bajas, Bacharach etc.

Forum members who either have a good internet connection or a shortwave radio might like to tune in. The show airs at 7.03pm Eastern on Sunday on 5,105kHz (Should be audible in many parts of US & Canada and some parts of western Europe where the time will be 1am Monday Central European Time) or on www.radiosix.com. If anyone hears it, do let me know what reception conditions are like - [email protected] will find me.

:wink:

Tony, I just want to try to clarify a couple of things. In your first paragraph you mention "every evening", and in the third you mention "fortnightly". The latter term is uncommon in the US, and I believe it means every 14 days or every two weeks.