• Our Album of the Week features will return next week.

Karen's studio vocal microphone

Status
Not open for further replies.

Phil OKeefe

Hi everyone... new forum member here. My name is Phil O'Keefe, and I'm a record producer / recording engineer / studio owner, and I also do some freelance writing for EQ magazine and moderate one of their online recording forums.

Anyway, a question came up on my forum...

http://www.musicplayer.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=forum&f=27&submit=Go

...about Karen's studio vocal mic, and I was hoping someone here could help us out. I've worked in the old A&M studios (now Henson), and I'm very familiar with the rooms and the gear... but I don't know what mic Karen's vocals were recorded through. Actually, I'd love any details on the entire signal path that any of you might be able to provide.

To my ears, it sounds like they had that mic positioned very close to Karen. It also sounds like they had some significant compression on her too.

Based on the timeframe of the Carpenter's hits, they were certainly recorded to 2" analog tape. The most commonly available compressors available back then would have included the Altecs, Fairchilds and the LA-2A and 1176. Mics could have been anything really... the "big five" vocal mics (AKG C12, Neumann U47, U67, M49 and Telefunken ELA M 251) were all available, as was the Neumann U87. Chances are good it was one of those five or six mics... but again, I have no idea which one. Of course, it possibly could have been a ribbon mic, such as the RCA 77 or 44.

A ribbon mic can add a lot of warmth and depth to a voice - especially when positioned close (proximity effect on ribbon mics tends to be pretty high), so I suppose that's possible... but most engineers usually go for condensers for lead vocals, and that certainly held true at that point in history.