• Our Album of the Week features will return next week.

The drumming on "It's Going to Take Some Time"

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tony

I'll preface this post with my frequent disclaimer: I'm not a musician and I lack a music vocabulary. That said, I've noticed that the drumming on "It's Going to Take Some Time" is a bit different than what we typically hear on other Carpenters' tunes. I assume KC is doing the drum duties on this one since she pretty did it on the entire ASFY album. In any case, the drum fills on this tune seem to come in off the beat. I have a pretty good sense of rhythm but I have a hard time tapping my fingers to the fills on this song because they're so different. Can someone here explain what's going on?

Also, the cymbal/high-hat work on this song always catches my ears, especially near the end when she matches the rhythm of the words "And it's going to take some time" on the high-hat when they're sung for the last time. It's one of those little touches that make the song sparkle for me.

I'll preface this post with my frequent disclaimer: I'm not a musician and I lack a music vocabulary. That said, I've noticed that the drumming on "It's Going to Take Some Time" is a bit different than what we typically hear on other Carpenters' tunes. I assume KC is doing the drum duties on this one since she pretty did it on the entire ASFY album. In any case, the drum fills on this tune seem to come in off the beat. I have a pretty good sense of rhythm but I have a hard time tapping my fingers to the fills on this song because they're so different. Can someone here explain what's going on?

Also, the cymbal/high-hat work on this song always catches my ears, especially near the end when she matches the rhythm of the words "And it's going to take some time" on the high-hat when they're sung for the last time. It's one of those little touches that make the song sparkle for me.